Information on:

Arnold's Bar And Grill

210 East 8th Street
513-421-6234

History

Arnold's is a historical, legendary downtown Cincinnati destination with a reputation for good food served in friendly surroundings at moderate prices.

The two buildings that make up Arnold's Bar and Grill were built in the late 1830's. The bar room at 210 East 8th Street was originally a barbershop and the other building, 208, first housed a feed store with the adjacent courtyard used for a stable and carriage house. Simon Arnold opened his tavern in 1861 in the same room that continues as the oldest bar in the city of Cincinnati. Since that time the bartenders have changed, different rules allow women to enter through any door now, and the cost of a beer has increased slightly.

During prohibition a kitchen was added and Arnold's was converted to a cafe. The second floor living area became dining rooms and second generation owner Hugo Arnold lived on the third floor with his family. Legend has it that he left the bathtub on the second floor to be used for bathtub gin. The bathtub became somewhat notorious and remains today (without the gin).

Three generations of the Arnold family lived upstairs and operated Arnold's for ninety-eight years. Since then Arnold's has had only four other owners. The current owner, Ronda Androski purchased the bar from Ronda's long time employer Jim Tarbell and our continuing to run Arnold's as a family business with the help of Ronda's son Chris and her daughter-in-law Bethany.

Over the years Arnold's has achieved and maintained a wonderful reputation for good food served in friendly surroundings at moderate prices. Throughout most of its history it served primarily as a daytime tavern and restaurant. In 1976 Mr. Tarbell added a dinner program and opened the now treasured courtyard (downtown's first outdoor dining in several decades). A stage was built and live music began on the weekends.

All of this continues today and with its wonderful sense of history and cultural diversity Arnold's has secured an important niche in this beautiful city.

Thank you for your visit and come back soon.

 



Arnold's Bar And Grill is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at Arnold's Bar And Grill

46 Long

Friday, Oct 18, 2019 from 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Modern Groove Jazz Band

Saturday, Oct 19, 2019 from 8:00pm to 11:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday with Diamond Jim Dews

Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Oct 23, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Oct 24, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Warrick and Lowell

Saturday, Oct 26, 2019 from 8:00pm to 11:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Oct 30, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

46 Long

Friday, Nov 1, 2019 from 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Cincinnati Dancing Pigs

Saturday, Nov 2, 2019 from 8:00pm to 11:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday Tuesdays with John Redell

Tuesday, Nov 5, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Nov 6, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Nov 7, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday Tuesday with Ben Levin

Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

46 Long

Friday, Nov 15, 2019 from 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday Tuesdays with Cheryl Renea

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Nov 21, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday with Diamond Jim Dews

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Nov 28, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday Tuesdays with John Redell

Tuesday, Dec 3, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Dec 4, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Dec 5, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

46 Long

Friday, Dec 6, 2019 from 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Cincinnati Dancing Pigs

Saturday, Dec 7, 2019 from 8:00pm to 11:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday Tuesday with Ben Levin

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Dec 11, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Dec 12, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday Tuesdays with Cheryl Renea

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Dec 19, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

46 Long

Friday, Dec 20, 2019 from 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Cincy Blues Society presents Bluesday with Diamond Jim Dews

Tuesday, Dec 24, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Todd Hepburn

Wednesday, Dec 25, 2019 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

The Philip Paul Trio (Jazz) w/ Half Price Wine

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Arnold's Bar and Grill
Cincinnati, OH
Read More »

Photos